Here we go….Again.

I am trying this blogging thing again. I got away from it before because of, well, life. Facebook became a way of sharing my opinion and life story but Facebook has an inherent sense of drama that comes with it. My life is pretty busy these days with work and training for a half Ironman in 2016. So here is a little about me and what you may read from time to time here.

1. I’m a conservative feminist. Yeah. I know. If you have a problem with it you can go elsewhere.On occasion I will rant about our current president, congress or local politics that drive me batty. I’ll do my best to throw in some positive politics also, but I make no promises.

2. I used to be fat. I had bariatric surgery 5 years ago and my health and physical well-being tend to take center stage most days, for better or worse. Some days you will see posts with just numbers. Miles cycled or ran or swimming distances I tried to complete gracefully. People ask me why I share a lot of what I have gone through physically. I would direct them to the people who have thanked me for sharing my story because, well, lets be honest, if I can do it anyone can. I am a work in progress. I still have plenty of doctor appointments and things that go wrong. 2015 seems to be shaping up as the year of the thyroid.

3. I still dream about publishing a best seller. I have started and scrapped several dozen novels in the past decade. I would like to start seriously funneling my energies back in that direction. You may, from time to time, see notes or questions posted about a particular storyline or writing exercises I am participating in to hone my skills. Feel free to critique what you see but come prepared to back up your argument if you do.

4. I’m not really big on the stereotyping of people, generally. Especially on the basis of superficial categories like skin color or gender. I was recently accused of being the product (or taking advantage of my) “white privilege.” My grandparents brought my father and his brothers to this country with nothing but the clothes on their back. I’ve never been handed anything for free. Everything has a price. I have worked for everything I have. Everyone should be lucky enough to work for what they have. I struggle daily but I am thankful for my life as it is. That is not to say that I do not believe that there isn’t prejudice and racial bias in this country. There is. All I’m saying is that just because I’m white does not mean I am bias or only see your skin color when I determine what sort of encounter you and I are going to have. I will be nice to you if you are nice to me. It really is just that simple.

5. I would love to make a living handling social media for businesses. I am still working out how to make that happen. Right now I trade for services for one business. It’s fun.

6. I’m a paper crafter. I have stacks of cute scrapbook paper and stacks of pictures to create and put into scrapbooks. Someday I’ll be caught up. That day does not appear to be coming any time this decade though since I really only do it for a weekend every 3-6 months.

That’s about it for now. I hope you stick around and enjoy this little window into my head.

Leave a Reply

